Shaggy dog story

Xmas tagIt’s Christmas Day, so here’s another old card from the archives. It looks as if it was once a Christmas card, but has been converted into a gift tag by the judicious application of some pinking shears – a common practice in our family in the 1960s. I know it is from that decade because of the writing on the back, in my Grandad R’s familiar hand:

Xmas tag messageThis tag must have accompanied a gift to us 3 children as we are all named. I am so glad my parents kept it. Not only has my Glaswegian “Granpa”, who died when I was 8,  given us 6 fond kisses here, he has also added a special note just for me, knowing my fondness for animals: “How do you like the wee kitten and doggie, S__?”

The fact that my Uncle Tommy also gets a mention brings back a particular Christmas memory from my childhood. Tommy never married, and moved down south with Grandad after my Grannie died. One Christmas morning we were all leaving the house to go and visit Dad’s family, we had a car so I must have been 5 or 6 at the time. Just as we were about to leave I was mortified to realise that, although we had gifts for everyone else, I didn’t have anything to give my Uncle Tommy. I insisted on holding everyone up while I found something, eventually settling on a half-crown, which I dutifully wrapped up in paper and sticky tape. Uncle Tommy had the good grace to be pleased when I presented him with my gift.

Tommy died some years ago,  having lived a reclusive life for many years. He always had dogs, which he loved. I wonder if he would have remembered this little shaggy dog story.

Uncle Tommy

Uncle Tommy in his youth, Glasgow

About Hoarder of Babylon

A chartered librarian and curator of my family archives.
This entry was posted in 1960s, Glasgow family, Grandad R. (paternal grandfather). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shaggy dog story

  1. jskcolorclay says:

    thanks for this. We too cut up the cards for next years tags and I am reminded of all of the reminders when un and re packing Christmas. The past present in not just the decorations and where and when from but the packing boxes and papers with notes and signatures from those either gone or grown now.

Leave a Reply

