…and what do you get if you cross a kangaroo with a sheep? (Object 58)

…A woolly jumper, of course!

Jumpers

Jumpers designed and knitted by Mum

Having written about my Mum’s many handicraft skills in my previous post, I wondered if I might have some old jumpers stashed away in a drawer somewhere, so I had a rummage – and here they are. Both were designed and knitted by my Mum, based on ideas of mine. The toucan on a background of Guinness black and cream dates from my stout-guzzling days of the 1980s, while the cat looking at the moon was made in the 1990s I think. Mum enjoyed this kind of challenge, planning out her designs on graph paper before cutting out a pattern. She often made things like this to order, and showed a quite creative flair for it. I haven’t worn either of these jumpers for many years, they’re not really my style any more, but I couldn’t bear to part with them. So they have both been gathering dust under my bed – in fact the toucan jumper, being made of wool as it pre-dates my vegan years, has gathered moths as well so I’ll have to part with it now. But I’m glad they lasted long enough to feature in the Usmeum as examples of my Mum’s creative skills.

Jumper with Toucan

Toucan jumper with Arthur the Guinness Toucan

The toucan’s bill went a bit wrong but I loved it anyway. It was partly based on Arthur the Guinness toucan, pictured here, which I bought when I worked for the RSPB in their London shop in the early 1980s. I still have the toucan (of course), along with numerous other bits of Guinness memorabilia. But that will have to be the subject of a different blog!

About Hoarder of Babylon

A chartered librarian and curator of my family archives.
This entry was posted in Clothes, Mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

