My Dad, the media mogul (Object 55)

People's Press Printing Society member's certificate

Dad’s 1945 certificate of membership to the People’s Press Printing Society

I was delighted to find this precious piece of paper in the archives. Having found old copies of  the Daily Worker featured in previous posts, here is my Dad’s certificate of membership to the People’s Press Printing Society Ltd from 1945, the year the Press was founded. The PPPS was formed to publish the Daily Worker communist newspaper, and the wording on the certificate reads:

“This is to certify that James R__ was admitted to membership of the People’s Press Printing Society Ltd. on 23rd October 1945, and thereby became an owner of the Daily Worker.”

The Daily Worker – which became the Morning Star in 1966 – was unique in that it was owned co-operatively by its subscribers. I remember there was always an appeal on the front page for funds to keep it going (as on this example), and  my parents were amongst the many loyal comrades working hard to raise funds every year with Morning Star Bazaars and jumble sales. I recently mentioned to a friend that my parents had taken this newspaper, adding as a joke, “They owned it, in fact”. I didn’t realise that this friend was unaware of the Morning Star’s history, and a while later I discovered that she really believed my parents owned a newspaper! Which, in a way, they did. So, there you go: my parents. Media moguls.

About Hoarder of Babylon

A chartered librarian and curator of my family archives.
This entry was posted in 1930-1949, Dad, Letters, cards and documents, Parents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

