Golden pony tale (object 23)

China pony

Following on from a theme in my previous post, here’s an “ordiment” that my Dad did repair, on several occasions. The old glue is coming off after all these years and this little pony with the broken legs may have to be put down after all, which would be a shame. I’ve had him since 1968 when I was 6 and my brother AJR (Brother 2), brought him back from Amsterdam for me. My brother was only 9 himself at the time. I think perhaps I should explain.
As I’ve mentioned previously, my Dad worked for BEA so we were able to fly abroad very cheaply, a rare privilege in the 1960s. Apart from our family holidays in Soviet Europe (such as this one), my parents occasionally took one or other of us abroad for a weekend, just for the experience. When I went to secondary school and started to learn French, they took me to Paris and we re-visited some of their honeymoon haunts. A few years before, Dad had taken AJR to Amsterdam, a great adventure for a 9-year old.  This listings magazine from their trip in March 1968 has turned up amongst the archives:

amsterdam this week March 1968Whenever family members returned from trips away they would be greeted by a giant poster in the hallway welcoming them home, done in poster paints on the back of one of my Mum’s AASE posters (see here for a surviving example). There were always gifts from abroad and I was thrilled with this tiny china horse, which AJR had chosen himself for my nascent collection of animal “ordiments” (a typically thoughtful gift on his part). I loved the delicate gold leaf mane, tail and hooves and named him Frolic after a palomino foal in my favourite children’s picture book. Frolic has survived despite the destructive habits of our family cat, emergency surgery by my Dad, and spending many years wrapped up in a box in the attic. Maybe I won’t have him put down after all; he can be put out to grass, to frolic wonkily around the Usmeum.

About Hoarder of Babylon

A chartered librarian and curator of my family archives.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Dad, Ornaments ("ordiments"), Parents. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

